RSS

Elderberry Syrup for Health

18 Apr
Elderberry Syrup for Health

My little grandson has been struggling the past few weeks and just can’t seem to get over this cold / ear infection / flu that he caught.  It just seems to be cycling through his little body.  I made this Elderberry syrup that we keep adding to his cups of juice, it is great for boosting the immune system and is packed with vitamin C.  Here is the recipe I used.

I started with 1 cup of dried Elderberries and 4 cups of water. 

IMG_0007

I added about 1 tsp of ground cinnamon

IMG_0009

I brought these to a simmer and let simmer for about 20 – 30 minutes.

IMG_0011

When I removed them from the heat, I poured in 1 cup of raw honey and stirred it until the honey was all melted in nicely. I probably should have added the honey to the hot syrup after I had strained it, but it still worked out okay.

IMG_0008

When it had cooled down enough, I strained it all out and composted the berries.  The syrup, I put into a quart jar and placed it in the fridge.  It will last for a couple of weeks.  Everyone who is sick or needs to boost their immune system should take this mixed in with their juice, or even just by spoonful.  It tastes really delicious.  For boosting immune, take 1 or 2 tbsp a couple of times a day.  If you are sick, take 1 or 2 tbsp every couple of hours.

Elderberry  not only helps to boost the immune system, they have really strong anti viral properties, and help to boost the circulation.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 18, 2014 in Natural Health from scratch

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
