RSS

Pantry Basics

01 Apr
Pantry Basics

I am often shocked when I look into pantries, that people don’t even have some of the basics needed to make a meal from scratch. I guess I must have grown up quite different from most people, because I don’t make a lot of ready made meals, frozen or packaged.  I pretty much cook every meal from the basics out of my pantry.  Mind you, my pantry isn’t your regular size pantry.  I do have a pretty good sized food storage room, that I keep all of the basics of cooking.

But for sake of backing up a bit, for some who might not think the way I do, I will go over some of the basics of what your pantry

8cc59-grains

Grains

should have in it, to start cooking from scratch.

Flour – much of my recipes and ideas that I will start to share with you on my Mondays of cooking from scratch, will include flour.  Baking your own bread, cookies, tortillas, muffins, cakes, and other staples, will not only make you a bit more healthy, a bit more self reliant, but it will also save you a lot of money.  You  will learn to make all of these over the next little while if you follow along.

Sugar – or some form of substitute.  I know that there are many people who don’t like to use white sugar in their cooking, but I do have it as a staple, as well as brown sugar, honey and molasses.  I keep all of them well stocked in my pantry.  I will let you know when it is a good idea to substitute honey, brown sugar, molasses, or something else in the recipe.  I haven’t experimented much with substitutions of sugar, but I will learn as I go.

Oil – cooking oil.  This can be whichever kind of oil you like to use the best.  I have your basic vegetable oil that I use for most things, and then I also have olive oil, grapeseed oil, and coconut oil that I use for more specific recipes, or for my herbal preparations.  If you are going to be doing a lot of cooking and baking from scratch, your cheap canola or vegetable oil will do just fine.  There are also some recipes that you can substitute your fat with things like apple sauce or pureed beans.  This will cut back on the cholesterol levels and make the items a bit more healthy!

Salt, baking powder, baking soda, cocoa, and yeast are all some of the baking essentials that should be in every pantry.  With these and flour and sugar, your world of baking opens up pretty big.  Throw in some chocolate chips, peanut butter, and rolled oats, and you now can make lots of cookies, cakes, and other yummies.

That kind of covers the baking essentials for your pantry.  I may come across a few more as the days go along, and I will certainly mention them.

Some of the essentials for cooking from scratch might include things like: vinegar in its various flavors, spices – whichever flavors

homemade-white-bread

Home made bread

you like and some of the following things.

Beans – canned or dried.  Dried are much cheaper, but take more work to cook with, tuna, pasta, rice, canned tomatoes, potatoes, onions and garlic.

I am a vegetarian, but the rest of my family still likes to eat meat, so my cooking from scratch includes many different options of both ways of eating.

There are a few other things to think about like, frozen vegetables, fresh vegetables, butter, eggs, milk, and cheese, but most of us have these things on hand most of the time anyways.

There you have the basics of a cooking from scratch pantry. Keep following along and learn what we can do with the basics.

 

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Pantry Basics

  1. viridianherbalist

    April 1, 2014 at 8:17 am

    That is a great list! I also cook from scratch most of the time but sadly do not have a big space for storage… well… not yet! The new house I am moving too… MASSES of storage!! 🙂

     
    • Davilyn

      April 1, 2014 at 2:23 pm

      I love masses of storage. I am excited for you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
