RSS

Why Can’t Everyone Just Do Their Part?

25 Mar

One of my biggest frustrations with people, is that they commit to doing something, and then don’t.  It makes me nuts! Why can’t they just do what they said they would do?

It seems like everywhere I go, there are a few key people who are responsible, and when they make a commitment, they actually stick to it.  Unfortunately for every one of those few key people, they are 2 or 3 times as many, who don’t carry their load. Why?

Is it really that hard?  See, in my mind, if there is something that I really don’t want to do, I just say NO.  In my mind, if there is something that I don’t have time to do, I say NO.  Now don’t get me wrong here, I don’t say NO very often, but if I do, there is a darn good reason.  In fact, my family tells me that I should say NO more often!  When I do say yes, I am committed.  I will always do what I have said I would do.  Why can’t more people be like that?

There is a term that I use probably far too often, “slacker”.  I kind of like the way is sounds when I say it.  Try it, “SLACKER”.  Kind of fun the way it rolls off your tongue. Remember the show, Back To The Future?  I don’t remember which one of these shows it was,

800px-BTTF2_003

The Principle dealing with the “Slackers”!

but one of them shows the principle and the way that he deals with the “slackers”.  I love it!  Hahaha! This is what I call these people who just don’t seem to want to carry their share of the load.  They are “slackers”.  I wonder if they realize how much more they burden the ones who are actually doing what they are supposed to be doing.  Because you know, we always pick up the slack for the “slackers”.

Don’t be a “slacker”.  If you really don’t have the time, nor the desire to do the work, please just say NO.  It will make life easier for those who are doing the work, if they don’t have to take up your slack.  If you do say NO right from the start, then maybe we can look for others, you know those key ones that we can count on, to help us instead.

Just my opinion here, but maybe someone will listen and make a change.  Then again, maybe not, but it is worth a shot right?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 25, 2014 in Life, Living, Slackers, Walk The Creek

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Why Can’t Everyone Just Do Their Part?

  1. Shelley

    March 25, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    Hey Dav – I have an opinion. I think that some people know that they should do things, that is why they agree to, but then there are a whole number of feelings that get in the way. It takes courage and strength to take some things on, and I know I have felt that courage and strength when I said yes, but then somehow it has gone, and I have felt inadequate and often paralyzed when I go to do the task. I have felt not good enough, not smart enough, not whatever enough…and have been ‘stopped’ from something that I had great intentions of accomplishing. And…in not completing the task, I have felt shame, regret etc. No one could make me feel any worse that I made myself feel. I have said yes in courage, and not completed something……sucks!

     
    • Davilyn

      March 25, 2014 at 3:40 pm

      Good point Shelley. I guess I haven’t really thought of it from that angle. I just see that lately I am so frustrated with so many who just don’t carry their part of the load. Perhaps I need to look a little deeper to see why they aren’t. Got me doing some thinking. Thanks Shelley! Love to hear from you all the time!

       
  2. Dolt

    April 17, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Reblogged this on Fat People Don't revolt and commented:
    Right?!

     

Leave a Reply

 
